PAF Board of Directors

Executive Board

RADM Deborah Parham Hopson, PhD, RN, FAAN
Board President
Assistant Surgeon General
Associate Administrator for HIV/AIDS
Health Resources and Services Administration
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Alan J. Balch, PhD
Chief Executive Officer
Patient Advocate Foundation

F. Marc Stewart, MD  
Immediate Past President

Professor of Medicine, University of Washington
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Nancy Davenport-Ennis
Founder, Chair Emerita
Patient Advocate Foundation

Diane Mauk
Board Secretary
Software Architects, LLC

John L. Murphy
Finance Committee Chair

Al Benson III, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine
Associate Director for Clinical investigation
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University

Christopher Boone, PhD, MSHA, FACHE, CPHIMS, PMP

Christian G. Downs, JD, MHA
Executive Director
Association of Community Cancer Centers
Rockville, MD

John H. "Jack" Ennie.

Brian Garofalo
Managing Partner
Patient Alliances

Lovell Jones,PhD
Professor of Research
Prairie View A&M University 
College of Nursing
Co-Founder, Intercultural Cancer Council 

Otis Maynard, Esq.
Associate General Counsel

Andy Miller, MHSE, MCHES
MillerStephens & Associates

Edith Mitchell, MD, FACP
Clinical Professor of Medicine and Medical Oncology
Program Leader, Gastrointestinal Oncology
Department of Medical Oncology
Director, Center to Eliminate Cancer Disparities
Associate Director, Diversity Affairs 
Kimmel Cancer Center at Jefferson

Pearl Moore, RN, MN, FAAN
CEO (Retired)
Oncology Nursing Society

Robert M. Rifkin, MD, FACP
Attending Physician
Rocky Mountain Cancer Centers

Lori Williams, PhD, MSN, RN
Assistant Professor
Department of Symptom Research
The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

W. Jackson Wisdom
Senior Partner
Martin, Disiere, Jefferson, & Wisdom, LLP


Scientific Committee

Charles Balch, MD, FACS
Chair, Scientific Advisory Committee
Professor of Surgery
Division of Surgical Oncology
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Pamela S. Becker, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine/Hematology
Institute of Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine
University of Washington

Al Benson III, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine
Associate Director for Clinical investigation
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University

David M. Brizel, MD, FASTRO
Leonard R. Prosnitz Professor of Radiation Oncology
Professor in Head and Neck Surgery
Co-Director, Head & Neck Cancer Program 
Duke University Medical Center

Pamela S. Douglas, MD, MACC, FASE, FAHA
Ursula Geller Professor of Research in Cardiovascular Diseases
Director of Imaging Program at DCRI
Duke University Medical Center

Jean G. Ford, MD
Chair, Department of Medicine
Albert Einstein Medical Center

Paul J. Martin, MD
Member, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Professor of Medicine
University of Washington

Deborah Morosini, MD
Vice President, Clinical Development
Foundation Medicine


Honorary Board

Leah Arnett, RN, BSN, MHCA
North Carolina State University Student Health Center

Bruce Avery, MD, FACP
Hematology-Oncology Knoxville

Martha E. “Meg” Gaines, JD, LLM
Clinical Professor of Law
Center for Patient Partnership
University of Wisconsin - Madison

Roy Ramthun, MSPH

Richard D. Carter, Esquire
Richard D. Carter, PLLC

The Honorable Mary T. Christian
Virginia House of Delegates (Retired)

Jonathan B. Perlin, MD, PhD, MSHA, FACP, FACMI
President, Clinical Services and Chief Medical Officer
HCA, Inc. (Hospital Corporation of America)

Edward G. Connette, Esquire
Essex Richards, PA

The Honorable Pat Dougherty
Missouri State Senate (Retired)
Senior Director of Advocacy, Catholic Charities of St. Louis

William T. "Bill" McGivney, PhD

Paula Trahan-Rieger, RN, MSN, CAE, FAAN
Oncology Nursing Society

Leo E. Sands
Executive Vice President & Chief Administrative Officer (Retired)
US Oncology

Doris Simonson
Mother of Cheryl Grimmel

Sheldon Weinhaus, Esquire
Weinhaus & Potashnick